Road Safety Advisory Council members


 Chair, Jim Cox

Road safety and its promotion has long been a passion of Jim Cox. He is an experienced leader and chair developed during his 21-year career as a Parliamentarian. Jim was Chair of the Tasmanian Road Safety Council and a former Minister for Infrastructure and Police and Emergency Management.  He also has extensive media experience gained as a news presenter on Southern Cross Television and during his parliamentary career.


CEO Motor Accidents Insurance Board (MAIB),
Peter Roche

In 1996 Peter was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Motor Accidents Insurance Board in Tasmania and he became a Director in 2004. Before this appointment, Peter was Deputy General Manager of the Workers Compensation Board of Queensland (now Workcover Queensland). Peter has been involved in personal injury insurance for the past 35 years.

Police CEO, Commissioner Darren Hine

Joining Tasmania Police as a cadet in February 1980, Commissioner Hine graduated from the Tasmania Police Academy in December 1981. Following graduation, he performed general uniform and traffic duties in Burnie, duties within the Criminal Investigation Branch in Launceston, and uniform duties in Hobart. He was promoted to Inspector in 1997 and Commander in 2000. He served in Executive Support and Operations Support before promotion to Assistant Commissioner in late 2002. After serving in both the Planning and Development and Crime and Operations portfolios, Mr Hine was promoted to Deputy Commissioner of Police in 2008 and was appointed as Commissioner of Police and Secretary of the Department of Police and Emergency Management on 11 October 2010.

 Harvey Lennon

CEO RACT and Road User Representative,
Harvey Lennon

Harvey Lennon is the Chief Executive Officer of The Royal Automobile Club of Tasmania Limited, having taken up this role in December 2010, succeeding Greg Goodman. Before assuming his new role, Harvey was the Club’s Chief Operating Officer from 2007 and Chief Financial Officer from January 2000 to 2007. Before joining the RACT, Harvey worked in the State Department of Treasury and Finance, where he held a range of senior positions. He has a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from the University of Tasmania, is a CPA and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


CEO Local Government Association of Tasmania, Allan Garcia

Before becoming Chief Executive Officer of the Local Government Association of Tasmania, Allan was General Manager Strategy and Policy with Tasmania’s Economic Development agency where he was responsible for industry policy and planning. He worked with the Department of Premier and Cabinet as the Director of Issues Management project managing issues of strategic importance to the State Government. He has also worked as a Senior Adviser to two State Ministers and held other senior policy and management positions with the Tasmanian Government.


Tasmanian Motorcycle Council Representative, Paul Bullock

Paul Bullock is a founding member of the Tasmanian Motorcycle Council in 2004.  Previously Paul was a medic in the Royal Australian Navy, drove ambulances, was a member of Karratha Volunteer Fire brigade and Rescue Officer Emergency Services Karratha, WA and held the role of Pension and Welfare Officer of the Launceston RSL.


Chair Tasmanian Bicycle Council and Road User Representative, Emma Pharo

Emma Pharo is Facilities Development Manager at Bicycle Tasmania and the only employee of the Bicycle Network in Tasmania. She is Chair of the Tasmanian Bicycle Council and represents all forms of cycling, including  commuter cyclists, mountain biking, road cycling, and other recreational riders. Emma works with all levels of government to advocate for better facilities in order to give people of all ages and abilities the option of riding their bike without the stress of close interaction with traffic. Emma is also an academic at the University of Tasmania, with a PhD and research experience in environmental management and a founding member of the Urban Resilience Research Group.

Executive Director of the Tasmanian Transport Association, Robin Phillips

Robin Phillips has worked in the heavy vehicle transport industry for 48 years and in management roles for 43 of those years.

Currently, Robin is Executive Director of the Tasmanian Transport Association,  Trustee on the  TWU Superannuation Fund, Chairman of the Tasmanian Transport and Logistics Workforce Advisory Group, Member of the Tasmanian Road Safety Advisory Council, Director on the Australian Road Transport Industrial Organisation, Member of the Advisory Group to the National Transport Commission.



Members of the Road Safety Advisory Council
Education and Enforcement Sub-Committee

Chair: CEO Motor Accidents Insurance Board (MAIB), Peter Roche

Chair Road Safety Advisory Council, Jim Cox

Assistant Commissioner of Police (Crime and Operations), Donna Adams

RACT General Manager Memberships and Marketing, Stacey Pennicott

Marketing Expert, Suzi Watral

Manager Land Transport Safety Policy, Craig Hoey