Community Road Safety Partnerships

CRSP is a “grassroots” road safety program coordinated by the Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources (DIER).  Introduced in 2003 to 12 local government authorities (LGAs), DIER now partners with all 29 LGAs to develop and implement targeted initiatives to address local road safety issues.

Over the years CRSP has been operating successfully addressing local issues aligned to the Tasmanian Road Safety Strategy 2007 – 2016 (TRSS).

Primarily CRSP encourages LGAs and their community networks to get involved in road safety. CRSP supports community networks by skilling people and developing knowledge to deliver better road safety programs.

Core approach

The core approach of the CRSP is based on engaging community networks and people to become involved and contribute to the road safety effort.

CRSP helps to organise planned activity, at the local level, targeting high risk behaviors in key focus areas.

Through the CRSP program, DIER stimulates local activity in the focus areas by providing human, physical and financial resources to build community capacity to achieve sustainable road safety outcomes.

To manage and plan the delivery of community road safety projects DIER personnel link with existing community road safety groups, liaison committees, local safety organisations as well as Police.

As well as road safety projects the CRSP program promotes key road safety messages through a General Road Safety Awareness program. The key component of the awareness program is to ensure the messages are relevant to the local community and are delivered through local networks and communication channels.

CRSP networks

CRSP has partnerships with all 29 LGAs and their various community networks including organisations such as Community Houses, LINCs, Liquor Accords, Schools, Sporting Clubs; Service Clubs, Community Health Centres, Business and Progress Associations. The LGAs involved are:

South: Glenorchy, Brighton, Kingborough, Hobart, Glamorgan/Spring Bay, Clarence, Huon Valley, Sorell, Southern Midlands, Tasman, Central Highlands and Derwent Valley.

North: Launceston, Dorset, George Town, Break O Day, West Tamar, Northern Midlands, Meander Valley and Flinders Island.

North West: Burnie, Kentish, Circular Head, Waratah / Wynyard, King Island, Devonport, Central Coast, West Coast and Latrobe.

Key focus areas

The Tasmanian Road Safety Strategy 2007 – 2016 (TRSS) outlines a range of focus areas on which local community activities are designed. However, the following core components of the TRSS are considered the primary focus areas for the CRSP:

  • Speeding
  • Drink / drug driving
  • Inattention / Distraction (fatigue included)
  • Safer Vehicles
  • Safety of young drivers

CRSP also undertakes road safety projects that target issues specific to individual communities. Such projects have targeted areas such as pedestrian, tourist, heavy vehicle, bike and school bus safety.


For more general information about CRSP or if you would like to get involved with your local community CRSP group please contact:

Geoff Frier, Project Manager
Ph: 62 334861

Or one of the Road Safety Operations Branch consultants:

Tony Brown         6233 5322
Bob Sharp            6233 5698

David McIntee      6336 2115
Rachel Coulson    6336 2154

North West
Louise Maynard   6434 6490

For more information about Community Road Safety Partnerships click here.